top of page

Becoming a Tassie


On top of Hobart's Mount Wellington

Officially done with my first week of classes! I love it here in Tassie, and I am so happy I chose this Uni to study abroad at. I have officially been in Hobart for two weeks and have already made some lifelong memories.

As my classes are progressing into full throttle, I am beginning to learn more and more about Australia. I am taking management, aboriginal history, and Australian History in the 20th century classes. Before traveling here, I didn’t know much about Australia---only knew they had cool accents, poisonous creatures, and I could name a handful of cities. Come June, I expect that I could tell you anything and everything about the land down under.

As I learn about Australia through textbooks, I am learning about Tasmania by going out and seeing its wondrous places. This past weekend, 13 of us rented a car and traveled to Freycinet National Park where Wineglass Bay is located. With stunning views, great people, and the constant waves, my weekend was amazing and is exactly what I thought Tasmania would be.

Not only have I been traveling around Tasmania, but I have been enjoying Hobart as well. My friend group is made up of Americans and Danish, with everyone wanting to get the most out of their travels here. We have been making it a routine to go to the Salamanca area and attending Rektango, which has a new band every Friday night. When Rektango ends, we head over to Street Eats @ Franko to grab a bite at the many food tents and then enjoy another band to end our night. It is becoming our Friday night tradition and I look forward to it every week.

Enjoy a few of my pictures that I added under Wineglass Bay & Hobart…Next week I will discuss the differences between Australia and USA (:


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page